Wednesday 14 May 2014

APPJAG Jazz Award Winners Announced

                                                Phil Meadows, Newcomer of the Year winner

The winners of the 2014 APPJAG Parliamentary Jazz Awards were announced last night at a ceremony in London and the North was well represented with winners in three catergories.

Phil Meadows (pictured above), graduate of Chethams School of Music and LCoM picked up Newcomer of the Year, while clarinettist and composer Arun Ghosh went home with Instrumentalist f the Year. Ben Cottrell was there to accept the Large Ensemble of the Year award on behalf of his group, Beats + Pieces.

Congratulations to all the winners from all at NJN.

NYJC's Issie Barratt, who received Educator of the Year Award from Lord David Steel and Jon Newey, Jazzwise, made this request to musicians present to consider making it easier for young people to attend jazz gigs.

Full Winners List -

  • Jazz Album of the Year: Troykestra, Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival
  • Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Christine Tobin
  • Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Arun Ghosh
  • Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Beats & Pieces Big Band
  • Jazz Venue of the Year (inc. clubs, venues, festivals and promoters): EFG London Jazz Festival
  • Jazz Media Award (inc. broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books): Jamie Cullum
  • Jazz Education Award: Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective
  • Jazz Newcomer Award: Phil Meadows
  • Services to Jazz Award: David Redfern
  • Special APPJAG Award: Chris Barber

No comments: