Tuesday 2 October 2012

2012 Peter Whittingham Jazz Award Launched

Previous winners Led Bib

The Musicians Benevolent Fund has launched its 2012 Peter Whittingham Jazz Award. Talented solo jazz musicians and ensembles are invited to apply for the £4,000 award. Over the past twenty years, the award has established itself as one of the most prestigious in UK jazz with a roll call of leading jazz musicians to its name. Previous recipients include Scott Stroman, Errollyn Wallen, Dave O’Higgins, Soweto Kinch, Gwilym Simcock, Empirical, and 2009 Mercury Prize nominees Led Bib.

We are delighted that Yorkshire's 2011 Peter Whittingham Award winners Roller Trio have recently been nominated both for the Barclaycard Mercury Prize and for best jazz act at the 2012 MOBO awards. The award is open to musicians who are studying full-time on a jazz course in the UK or within the first two years of starting their professional career.
The closing date for applications is Monday 5 November and auditions will take place in London on Tuesday 4 December. Find out more at helpmusicians.org.uk

No comments: