Friday 3 March 2017

JazzFM Nominees Announced - Voting now open

The nominees for the 2017 JazzFM awards were announced this week and voting is now open on the 3 categories decided by public vote. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at Under The Bridge in Chelsea on April 25th.

Congratulations to all of the nominees and a special nod to LCoM jazz graduate Ashley Henry, who has been nominated in two categories!

For more information and to vote, visit the JazzFM Awards website.

Full Nominee List

Instrumentalist of the Year - Nikki Yeoh, Gwilym Simcock, Tim Garland

Vocalist of the Year - Norma Winstone, Polly Gibbons, Carleen Anderson

International Jazz Artist of the Year - Donny McCaslin, Brad Mehldau, Robert Glasper

Breakthrough Act of the Year - Ashley Henry, Yussef Kamaal, Nubya Garcia

UK Jazz Act of the Year - Dinosaur, Shabaka Hutchings, Soweto Kinch

Soul Artist of the Year - Laura Mvula, Jordan Rakei, William Bell

Blues Artist of the Year - Bonnie Raitt, The Rolling Stones, Eric Bibb

Digital Initiative of the Year - Dave Douglas (Greenleaf Music), Gilles Peterson (Worldwide FM), Jaimeo Brown (Transcendence: Work Songs)

Innovation of the Year - Darcy James Argue, Jaimeo Brown, Moon Hooch

Live Experience of the Year - Ashley Henry Trio at Jazz Re:Freshed
                                              - Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles at Glee Club, Birmingham
                                              -  Julian Arguelles & Frankfurt Radio Big Band, Django Bates and Steve
                                                Arguelles at Cheltenham Jazz Festival
                                              -  Orphy Robinson All Stars - Bobby Hutcherson Songbook at St James
                                                The Great, London
                                              -  Roberto Fonseca Trio at Gateshead International Jazz Festival
                                              -  Wayne Shorter Quartet at The Barbican, London

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award - Georgie Fame

Impact Award - Damien Chazelle

No comments: