Wednesday 29 April 2015

JazzFM Awards Shortlist Announced

The complete shortlist of JazzFM Award nominations has been announced ahead of the June 10th winners ceremony at Vinopolis in London.

Manchester's Go-Go Penguin are up for UK Jazz Act of the year and Breakthrough Act, continuing their reign of jazz celebrity while LCoM alumnus Pete Wareham also appears in the UK Jazz Act category with Polar Bear.

The awards, produced by Serious, featured three categories open to public vote and the rest decided by a panel.

For more information, see JazzFM Awards website.

Album of the Year (Public vote): Ambrose Akinmusire The Imagined Savior is Far Easier to Paint; D'Angelo Black Messiah; Dianne Reeves Beautiful Life; Chris Potter Underground Orchestra Imaginary Cities; Polar Bear In Each and Every One; Troyka Ornithophobia

Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote): Loose Tubes at Cheltenham Jazz Festival, Blue Note 75th Birthday at EFG London Jazz Festival, Jamie Cullum at Love Supreme Jazz Festival

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote): GoGo Penguin, Polar Bear, Sons of Kemet

Breakthrough Act: Bill Laurance, GoGo Penguin, Peter Edwards

Instrumentalist: Alex Hawkins, Laura Jurd, Shabaka Hutchings

Vocalist: Alice Zawadzki, Lauren Kinsella, Zara McFarlane

Jazz Innovation: Henry Threadgill, Jason Moran, Theo Croker

International Jazz Artist: Antonio Sanchez, Gregory Porter, Snarky Puppy

Blues Artist: Dr John, Otis Taylor, Valerie June

Soul Artist: D’Angelo, Jarrod Lawson, Lalah Hathaway

Lifetime Achievement Award: Hugh Masekela

No comments: