Wednesday 16 July 2014

Yamaha Jazz Scholars of 2014 Announced

Pianist and LCoM graduate Ashley Henry has been announced as one of this year's Yamaha Jazz Scholars.

Each year, one student from the final year at the UK's jazz courses is chosen as an outstanding young musician. This group will receive a cash prize, the opportunity to record for a CD released by Jazzwise and performance opportunities at the House of Commons and a London jazz venue.

Ashley is joined by -

Scott Chapman (drums) - Royal Academy of Music
Ed Haine (tenor) - Birmingham Conservatoire
Mark Lewandowski (bass) - Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Tom Dennis (trumpet) - Trinity Laban
Dan Smith (alto) - Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
Utsav Lal (piano) - Royal Scottish Conservatoire

Previous winners of the award from LCoM include Jay Davis, Riley Stone-Lonergan, Andrew Linham and Alex Munk. These musicians have gone on to study masters programmes in London, study abroad in NYC and all have gone onto building strong reputations as professional jazz musicians.

Congratulations to Ashley and the rest of the scholars!

No comments: